
Quick answer: The best food deal near you is the one with the lowest cost per person after drinks, fees and travel, not the biggest discount headline. In October 2026 the reference points we could source were Debonairs' Club Triple-Decker at R199 (official, to 11 January 2027), Eazzy Lunch at R129.90 (official, to 30 November), Steers' Wacky Wednesday of two burgers for R69.90, KFC's Mighty Bucket for One from R79.90 and a R159 family deal (unofficial), and, for cooking at home, whole chicken at about R58.99 per kg in a Shoprite special listed by Gauteng.net (year not stated). We cannot see your location, so the method below matters more than any single price.
Last updated: October 2026. Facts come from Debonairs' official page, Steers' website, unofficial KFC listings, Gauteng.net and Briefly. Unofficial and undated sources are labelled. Worked examples use invented extras.
Background: why "best" depends on who is eating

South Africans eat out and order in for very different reasons: a quick lunch, a family treat, a date or a month-end indulgence. A deal that is excellent for a family of four can be poor value for one person, and the reverse is also true. A fair comparison therefore starts with two numbers: how many people are eating and what the whole meal costs. Everything else, such as discount percentages, "was" prices and bonus items, is secondary. If the Shoprite offers are not quite what you need, it is worth comparing them with the latest Checkers catalogue and the current Pick n Pay catalogue before you decide.
Core breakdown: three channels and what they cost
| Channel | Example | Price | Per person |
|---|---|---|---|
| Takeaway, solo | KFC Mighty Bucket for One (unofficial) | From R79.90 | R79.90 |
| Takeaway, sharing | KFC family deal (unofficial, about three people) | R159 | About R53 |
| Takeaway, pizza | Debonairs Club Triple-Decker (official) | R199 | R99.50 for two, R66.33 for three |
| Day deal | Steers Wacky Wednesday, two burgers | R69.90 | R34.95 |
| Home cooking | Whole chicken at about R58.99 per kg, 1.6 kg, with rice and veg (invented sides R40) | About R134 | R33.50 for four |
The spread is large. Home cooking and a day deal sit around R34 per person, a sharing takeaway around R53 to R66, and a solo combo about R80. Delivery would add fees on top of the takeaway prices.
Practical comparison: a five-step method
- Count heads. Decide how many people are eating and whether kids count as half portions.
- List two or three candidate deals from apps or leaflets.
- Add the extras you will actually buy: drinks, sides, delivery, tip.
- Divide by the number of people to get a cost per head.
- Add the cost of getting there: fuel or the delivery fee.
A worked example (invented extras): two adults want dinner. Option A is Debonairs Club Triple-Decker at R199 plus two drinks at R20 each, giving R239, or R119.50 each. Option B is Steers' two burgers at R69.90 plus two chips at R30 each and two drinks at R20 each, giving R169.90, or R84.95 each. Option B wins on a Wednesday, but Option A wins on Thursday when Wacky Wednesday is not available.
Insider tips
- Check the brand app before ordering; app-only coupons often beat leaflet prices.
- Choose collection over delivery to avoid fees, which older tests put at R15 or more plus service charges.
- Eat early or at lunch, when restaurants often run cheaper set menus.
- Phone to confirm that your branch honours a deal; franchisees may opt out.
- Do not drink and drive: the limit is 0.05 g per 100 ml, and alcohol is for adults 18 and older.
Pros and cons
Pros
- A wide spread of prices lets you match the deal to your budget.
- Official pages and apps make some prices easy to verify.
Cons
- Unofficial lists conflict and go out of date.
- Fees, markups and drinks can erase a headline saving.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest way to eat well tonight?
Cooking at home usually costs about a third of a solo takeaway combo; among takeaways, a day deal such as Steers' Wacky Wednesday is cheapest per person.
Are app prices lower than in-store prices?
Often, because brands push coupons through apps, but compare the final total for your outlet.
How do I know a deal is still valid?
Check the end date on the brand's own page or app and confirm with your branch.
Sources
- Debonairs Pizza: specials page; Steers South Africa website
- Unofficial KFC deal listings (October 2026); Gauteng.net Shoprite specials listing (year not stated); Briefly: meat prices roundup (undated)



